MUFAs, Loofas and Oompa Loompas

Okay so the big trend in “lose that fat” articles these days seems to be MUFAs (monounsaturated fatty acids). With article titles along the lines of “the flat belly diet” and “lose fat without exercising”….. Well, so much for low-fat diets! Even the mayoclinic has a list of healthy fats on their site: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/fat/NU00262 The question then becomes “does this help?”…. well, for whatever reason avocados have suddenly become very cheap in my area… instead of up to $3 each, I can find them 4 for $3…. so I decided to try having a small avocado each morning for breakfast for a while to see what happens…. my jeans I wore a month ago no longer fit…. and surprise… they’re TOO BIG AROUND THE WAIST…. I’m totally shocked by this, but I’m going to keep doing it as long as the price of avocados stays down….. oh and my doctor was concerned about my eating that much fat and ran blood work this week… and my fat levels are just fine…. ldl low, hdl a bit lower than she’d like but still fine, tri-glycerides not bad at all….. So I think I’ll continue what I’m doing and see how it goes….. Oh and my dry skin isn’t as dry either…. go figure…. so I don’t need as much loofa time…..

Where do the Oompa Loompas fit in? Well, it occurred to me earlier that they have some pretty good advice to give…..
http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/lyrics/oompa.htm

Leave a Reply

